Young America


Young America, for Chorus and Orchestra

  • Young America
  • Annabel Lee
  • Three Welsh Songs
  • Victorian Scenes
  • Jerusalem from Plump Jack


  • San Francisco Symphony
  • Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor (Young America, Annabel Lee)
  • Eric Ericson Chamber Choir (Stockholm)
  • Russian National Orchestra
  • Alexander Vedernikov, conductor (Three Welsh Songs, Victorian Scenes, Jerusalem)
  • Lisa Delan, soprano
  • Vladimir Chernov, baritone
  • Pavlo Hunka, bass-baritone
  • Gunnar Birgersson, baritone
  • Mats Carlsson, tenor
  • PentaTone Classics SACD Recording
  • Released 2005


An opera in one act, Usher House is based on Edgar Allan Poe's The Fall of the House of Usher

“Poe’s inter-grown house and family of Usher are artworks of morbidity and malaise worthy of the spectacular climax he devised for them. He has preferred to make mood everything, saving almost all dialogue and explicit action for the closing scene.” – Gordon Getty

Hark the Homeland

Young America: I. Hark the Homeland · San Francisco Symphony Chorus