Young America


Young America
  • For SATB chorus and orchestra
  • Piano reduction available
  • Poems by Gordon Getty and Stephen Vincent Benét
  • Duration: 20 minutes

Orchestration: 2 flutes, piccolo, 2 oboes, English horn, 2 clarinets, bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon, 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, timpani, percussion, harp, strings

Hark the Homeland

San Francisco Symphony and Chorus; Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor


See review archive

“For any listener who enjoys robust choral writing, good tunes, lively rhythms, and ethereal beauty, this disc [Young America] can be enthusiastically recommended…This is an extraordinarily engaging disc, one to which I shall return many times.”

Henry Fogel
Fanfare, 2005